The E. Sam Sovilla Award of excellence

Educational institutions and employing organizations that  maintain exceptional internship and/or cooperative education programs can be nominated for the OCEA Award for Excellence.  The E. Sam Sovilla Award for Excellence is the highest honor presented by the Association.
  • Employing organizations or educational institutions nominated by OCEA members will be considered for the award based on the criteria set forth. No more than one award will be given in any year. There is no requirement for the award to be presented annually.  The recipient can be located outside the State.An organization can be nominated annually but can receive the award no more than once every five years.
  • Consideration will be given both OCEA members and non-members.
  • The award winner must demonstrate a clear history of active involvement in internship and/or cooperative education programs by maintaining an active intern/co-op program for five or more consecutive years.

2019 Winner: Lincoln Electric

The Awards Committee will evaluate the candidates on the basis of the following selection criteria:

  • The historical perspective of the nominee's internship/cooperative education program.  The criteria for selection may include: years of program existence (5 consecutive years minimum), size of the program, majors involved, number of employers/educators used, etc.
  • The unique qualities of the organization's internship/cooperative education program.  The criteria for selection may include: employer workshops, supervisor training, mentoring programs, exemplary student learning programs, culturally diverse workplace, etc.
  • How the staff of the organization promotes and supports the ideas of internship/cooperative education through quality student assignments.  The criteria for selection may include:  opportunity for full time employment/advancement, concern for learning outcomes of the work assignments, personal growth/development of the student, matched job placement opportunities with academic interests, guidance in assessing educational outcomes of intern/co-op assignments, etc.
  • How the organization provides financial and other support for internship/cooperative education.  The criteria for selection may include:  educational scholarships or tuition assistance, student housing assistance, in-kind contributions to institutions/ organizations, volunteering time as guest speakers/lecturers etc.
  • How the organization demonstrates support for the betterment of internship/cooperative education through participation in the Ohio Cooperative Education Association and/or other professional organizations.  The criteria for selection may include: years of active professional organization membership, offices and/or committee involvement, financial/in-kind contributions, etc.

Nominations are due by March 22, 2019.

Previous Winners Include:

2018 -Ohio Department of Higher Education, Ohio Means Internships & Co-ops Program, John Magill & Steve Tirpak
2017 - University of Toledo, College of Engineering Career Development Center
2016 - The Lubrizol Corporation
2015 - Cleveland State University, Washkewicz College of Engineering
2014 - No Nominations
2013 - University of Akron, College of Engineering
2012 - Duke Energy
2011 - No Nominations
2010 - Cornerstone Research Group
2009 -
Danis Building

2008 - Honda of America Mfg., Inc.
2007 - No Nominations
2006 - Case Western Reserve University
2005 - Procter & Gamble
2004 - College of Mount St. Joseph
2003 - General Electric Aircraft Engines
2002 - No Nominations
2001 - Copeland Corporation
2000 - Swagelok
1999 - Ashland Specialty Chemical Company
1998 - Cincinnati State
1997 - Sinclair Community College
1996 - University of Cincinnati

Mailing Address: 
            Ohio Cooperative Education Association 
            P.O Box 5066
            Cleveland, OH 44101

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software